Machine Quilting Business Blog

It has been busy the last few months since I last posted and a lot has been happening in my life. I generally don’t post about my personal life on this site, but, recent happenings have affected my postings.

In May, due to really bad arthritis, I had my right hip replaced. Because the arthritis was SO bad, it took a little longer to get “up and running” with my quilting. I finally got back to quilting at the quilting machine – with a lot LESS pain – and catching up with customer quilts and other projects that I had started. (I have most of this, and the quilts I have completed, documented on my personal blog at http://cindyroth1.wordpress.com/ )

When my right hip was healed after the surgery, it turned out that my left hip had significant arthritis (and pain) and it needed to be replaced, too. After much thought and consultations with my doctors, it was determined that replacing my left hip should be done sooner rather than later. So, on October 16 (five months after my first hip replacement) I had my left hip replaced!

My recovery from the second surgery has been MUCH easier than the recovery from my first hip surgery. At only three weeks after surgery, I am walking with a cane and I have NO pain other than some occasional surgery discomfort, which is decreasing every day. I feel GREAT and I can’t wait to get back to the quilting machine in the next few weeks.

Even though I am still “recovering” I have already pieced a quilt top for a Christmas gift and will be working on a few more quilt tops over the next few weeks. I am also doing a lot of computer work including working on new pantograph patterns, new quilting designs, new piecing patterns and outlines for some new online classes, including the 2013 New Years Day Mystery Quilt.

I am planning on getting back “on track” with posting to this blog on a more regular basis and working on my custom quilting business – which has been on hold during my surgeries and recovery.

If you have had a situation where you had to take a “vacation” from your quilting business due to surgery, illness or some other life situation, (we don’t need to know personal details) please let us know how you were able to come back to your business, hopefully a stronger, better person and a better quilter.

I am truly grateful for modern medicine and the dedicated Doctors, Nurses, Physical Therapists and all the other health care professionals that work so hard every day to keep us all healthy and moving without pain.

About Cindy Roth
Mother of 3, Grandmother of 11 and quilting forever!

5 Responses to Machine Quilting Business Blog

  1. For newest news you have to go to see world wide web and on web I found this
    web page as a most excellent web page for most up-to-date updates.

  2. Jeannette Orr says:

    Thanks Cindy that gives me hope as I am off to the doctors in an hour to get the results on my latest hip xray and
    where I go from here.

  3. Welcome back Cindy! I am very happy that your surgeries went well and are recovering are so quickly from your second surgery. Just don’t push yourself too much, we don’t want any unforeseen complications to arise. Get well and glad you you are back.

  4. Norma McDanial says:

    Cindy, Thanks for the update. Hope you have a speedy recovery and get back to what you love most! All who keep up with our email, and posts, have missed you. I’ve had one health problem after the other since Jan. 2012, so I understand entirely. I’m hoping 2013 will be much better for both of us………………Norma

  5. Hollis McCright says:

    My mother has had both knees replaced. She was a postmaster for 35 years, standing on concrete floors for most of those years.

Leave a Reply

