T-Shirt Quit Follow Up

Here is a follow up to a  comment that was posted to my blog post “The T-Shirt Quilt Story”.

I posted an online  article  about pricing a “start to finish” quilt. You can view this article by Clicking Here

In the article I say that I send a copy of an estimate/invoice which I create in QuickBooks (my accounting software) along with some drawings, etc., so that my customer knows what the charges are and what the finished quilt will look like.

A quilter wanted to see what the estimate/invoice would look like. I have created a QuickBooks  invoice for the quilt I described in the article.

To view the invoice Click Here 

I would add the word “Estimate” across the top of the invoice and date it. I usually give a time limit of 30 days.  I would write something like:

Estimate of charges. This price good until ____ (date, 30 days from today). I may also add, “Prices subject to change due to cost of materials and complexity of piecing pattern.”

I would sign and date (today’s date)  underneath this written statement. My customer would receive a copy of this estimate and I would keep a copy in the records for this project.

About Cindy Roth
Mother of 3, Grandmother of 11 and quilting forever!

4 Responses to T-Shirt Quit Follow Up

  1. Brenda says:

    Very helpful. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Thank you *so* much, Cindy! I have absolutely no idea why I never thought to use that Quick Book feature for my quilting. You are, without a doubt, a genius. 🙂

  3. Lynn, Colorado says:

    Hi Cindy,
    In your previous article, I believe you also mentioned 1/2 due as a non-refundable deposit. Is that for every quilt or just for that T-shirt quilt that you were talking about? If you require a deposit, do you put that on the invoice somewhere?

    • Cindy Roth says:

      Usually, I only require a deposit for “start to finish” quilts that I do. There is too much of a chance for someone to cancel the quilt before it is finished – ask me how I know this! Any $$ that I receive as a deposit or payment, is entered into QuickBooks and I can easily make a statement showing all payments, etc. If you don’t have QuickBooks, you can certainly keep track of any payment, deposits, etc., on the invoice or in any other accounting software you may have.

      For my ” regular” quilting customers, I don’t require a deposit. I have their quilt and they don’t get it back until it is paid for.

      I have had customers that insist that I take a deposit or a payment, and that’s all right. It is a tad bit more paperwork for me, but if it makes my customer happy, I am more than willing to do it.

Leave a Reply

