Happy 2014!!

I can’t believe it is already January 2014! Where have the last few months gone? I don’t know about you, but they FLEW past for me!

Since mid-October, I have been busy, busy, busy! Between traveling and teaching, teaching classes here at my studio, writing, creating and of course, quilting for my customers, I FINALLY now have a few seconds to sit, relax, breathe a bit, and post a blog.

Since Mid-October, I have been wanting to write about surviving your “Christmas Crunch.” But, since I was so busy with my own “crunch” I didn’t have the time to write about it.

Now that we all have survived the Christmas Crunch, (time waits for no one) we can all relax for a day or two or three before we start all over again.

If you have some time, write a comment about how you control, schedule, survive or any other strategy you use to survive super busy times of the year – whether it is Christmas, graduations, weddings, quilt show deadlines, etc.

I know everyone is different with different ways to doing things. By sharing your experience with others, you will help them and maybe someone will have an idea for you to use in the future.

Just Click on “Make a Comment” or make a “Reply” and let us know what works for you.

I hope you have a creative, prosperous and wonderful 2014!

About Cindy Roth
Mother of 3, Grandmother of 11 and quilting forever!

11 Responses to Happy 2014!!

  1. Sue K says:

    I have a white board/bulletin board on the wall in my studio, and keep a list there. It reduces the stress when I can look at it and see exactly what needs to be done, whether it’s my own stuff for our upcoming show, or quilting for others for that same show.

  2. Jenn says:

    This was my fourth “Christmas season” with my LA business (which I run full-time). Last year I was a vendor at art/craft events in October and December in addition to trying to complete customer quilting. NEVER AGAIN!! I usually have quilting reservations booked 3-4 months in advance, so I started letting my customers know in July to either get tops finished as early as possible, or to go ahead and make a reservation with me even if they were still piecing (I was booked through December by early August). By allowing reservations (and I really good calendar!) I was able to keep all of my quilts to within a week of their reserved time. I allowed no “regular” customer reservations past December 12 and then saved the last few days for family only so that if I got backed up it wouldn’t be QUITE as difficult to explain the delay. 🙂 I also made clear that no rush services would be allowed in November or December.

  3. Sharon M. says:

    I still work outside my home full time, so my time for customer quilts is already limited. I try not to accept any during the month of December, and ask customers to hold off until Jan. 1 if they can’t get their tops to me by late November.

  4. H Davis says:

    We also start asking our customers around Nov 1 if they need the quilt for Xmas. When we get a number of “must have for Xmas” quilts that we think will fill the available time we start turning folks down or promising only a best effort with no guarantee.

    Over time however, (we’ve been at this for 13 years) your regular customers will start to bring you their Xmas quilts in July to avoid the anxiety of a last minute delivery. Our long time customers are so good and so well trained that they write “no hurry” or something similar on their note so we don’t have any doubt about when they need it.

    We have a great group of customers.

  5. Sandy G says:

    I learned to say no! I got everything done on schedule except for one quilt that the customer didn’t decide on the design for her king size quilt until Dec 22 oh and by the way since it’s so close to Christmas she said go ahead and bind it! This was not one of my regulars and this was beginning to sound like a no win. I said no, then she fessed up that the quilt was a birthday present for the previous August!

  6. Cindy Hubbard says:

    This was my first year in the quilting business. I learned an awful lot and still survived the holiday season. I learned that I need to plan to finish pieces that are on a deadline at least three weeks ahead of deadline to account for “user errors”, machine malfunctions and computer glitches,. I am lucky enough to have a large longarm rental business about 30 minutes away that I could schedule with if needed to be able to finish something up. I had some glitches in downloading the requested pattern. All ended well but I realize I need a few weeks of leeway in case I have to rent some time in a jam. I’ve also put a 4′ x 6′ cork board divided into 12 blocks, 1 for each month and will put “job cards” up in each month. I’m a visual person–I need to see what work I have right in front of my eyes!!!

    Cindy Hubbard

  7. Fran Foskey says:

    I wish I could say all went well with customer quilts, but wanted to be done early with customer quilts by Dec 1st. I was off by ten days. I did get them all done but was a little frazzled. Next year I will do better.

    • Margaret Landon says:

      I have been in business more than 10 years…don’t get frazzled, relax, BUT work, it will all work out…with less mistakes!

  8. Susan says:

    I begin in October asking my clients if they need their quilts before Christmas and then prioritize the ones that are needed so I don’t have too many in December. Most of my clients know that I will work with them to get things they need done when they need them and they are willing to wait if someone else needs to jump ahead of them in the line.

Leave a Reply

