Wonky Borders

I have just added a couple of new pages to the Longarm University website where I talk about fixing wonky / bad borders.

To view these pages Click Here 

I would love to hear your comments on this.  You can send me an email with your comments via the web page, or respond with the comments on this blog.

About Cindy Roth
Mother of 3, Grandmother of 11 and quilting forever!

3 Responses to Wonky Borders

  1. Sherry says:

    I try very hard to square the quilts the best I can when I quilt them for my customers. I don’t always think to check the squareness of the quilts before I load them as most customers do a pretty good job. I do a quick check to get a width and length, usually from the center. I then load the quilt and check the top width with the middle width to come up with what I try to keep the width of the whole quilt. I like to float the tops. I don’t worry so much about the length except to try and keep the quilt square as I quilt it by following each row as go. I use a carpenters laser square and a piece of round elastic. The elastic runs parallel to the belly bar and over the quilt top so I can line up the rows to it. I take the laser on the front corners at the quilt edge and elastic and square up the sides to the elastic and make sure the width is constant.. That way I keep it squared as I roll it.

    Well, I got a customers quilt that is 2.5″ wider at the bottom than the top. I actually had quilted about 2/3 of it before I noticed that all of a sudden it was getting larger starting with two rows and the borders from the bottom. I decided there was no way I could quilt in 2.5″, so I took it off and returned it to the customer to fix. It took her several months and then she couldn’t figure out what was wrong to fix. She must have taken off the border and put it back on was all. Anyway when I got it back it was still 2.5″ wider.

    I decided to fix it myself this time. It ended up that I had to take out a little of my quilting to do it right, but have just about got it back together. I don’t know if the customer will be happier,m but I certainly will be. I”m not a fancy quilter, but I don’t want to make it look like I was the one that made it so “wonky”

    Thank you for your “Wonky Borders” article as it makes me feel much better that I fixed it.

  2. leeanne says:

    Thank you Cindy. Just yesterday I watched a youtube video of someone quilting a wonky border worse than this, they did take time to ‘ease’ in the fullness, but in my opinion it was a ‘dogs breakfast’!! I would not have been happy to have my name as the quilter against this particular quilt. It never looks good for the quilter. I have on several occasions like you removed borders, remeasured, cut and re attached, at the expense of my customer. Then end results are a lovely straight flat quilt and a happy customer!

  3. Jody says:

    thank you for the illustration of a bad/wonky border and what to do. I have had a few, and always wonder if I should be the one to fix it, or use it as a teaching moment, and let the quilt maker learn from her mistake. either way can be time consuming, but the end result IS worth it.

Leave a Reply

