Why We Quilt

I belong to a couple of machine quilting YahooGroups. A few days ago, someone from the group posted some photos of a quilt she was working on. I felt the photos would be of interest to those who read this blog and, with her permission, I am posting some of them.

What would YOU do if this quilt was on your machine?

emily-1

And here is a close up of the sashing –

emily-2

The quilter has written about her experience in quilting this quilt and has many more photos on her blog.

To view the post about this quilt Click Here 

It is well worth your time to read the post and view the photos.

If you have any photos of poorly pieced quilts, send them to me at longarmu@aol.com and I can post them on this blog.

About Cindy Roth
Mother of 3, Grandmother of 11 and quilting forever!

5 Responses to Why We Quilt

  1. Pingback: Why We Quilt – Part 2 | Machine Quilting Business

  2. Thanks for sharing the blog post that goes with the photo’s; and bless the quilter who took the time and made the effort to work with a flawed “piecing job”.

  3. Emily says:

    As a quilter, I am always looking for insight into finishing difficult quilts. I genuinely look forward to responses on this topic. Thanks, Cindy!

    • Emily, I totally feel the same way about quilting. And, I wholeheartedly agree with your statement concerning, “It’s not my job to critique someone’s ability in making quilts.” Sometimes, the quilt maker just wants to be done so she or he can move on to the next one. And, my joy comes from the challenge, too. Loved your post!

  4. Barbara Stroup says:

    This is not a quilt that I would accept for longarm work. In my initial conversation with potential new clients, I explain that I offer a free consult during which I will decide if I can (“want to”) proceed with quilting services. I would reject this quilt at that point as its flaws are obvious and quilting cannot fix them. If the owner is interested in improving her skills, I would offer to refer her to local quilt shops/classes. I did not become a longarm quilter to become a “fixer” of bad construction.

Leave a Reply

